TACTIC Open Source
Upgrading Tactic VM - Printable Version

+- TACTIC Open Source (http://forum.southpawtech.com)
+-- Forum: TACTIC Open Source (http://forum.southpawtech.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Forum: TACTIC Discussion (http://forum.southpawtech.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Thread: Upgrading Tactic VM (/showthread.php?tid=159)

Pages: 1 2 3

Upgrading Tactic VM - tushar_soni - 07-23-2020

Hi,

I am new to Tactic. Trying it out for our small production.
I have installed Tactic VM with Fedora 30, it has version 4.7.
I am getting couple of errors, like, (i) I can't update the Template Project with I click the Update Icon; (ii) in Manage Security > Project Security > when I click save button after assigning projects to user group I get error "name 'basestring' is not defined". I have tried this in 2-3 different projects but doesn't resolve.

As a solution, please let me know,
(i) how can I resolve this bug in the given version 4.7 (I am a very beginner in Python)
(ii) how can I upgrade Tactic version to 4.8, in which these bugs might have been resolved. I have referred to System Administration doc for Upgrading Tactic but it doesn't point to right Tactic install dir.

Thanks,
Tushar

RE: Upgrading Tactic VM - remkonoteboom - 07-23-2020

There is some documentation for upgrading TACTIC to a new version:

http://community.southpawtech.com/docs/sys-admin/upgrade-tactic/

These instruction suggest you symbolically link the TACTIC to a fixed folder and all you have to do is change the symbolic link and run "python upgrade_db.py -f" (located in src/bin folder). Now, if you want to run the latest version, you can always clone the GitHub repository and link to the repository. Checking out a branch will "switch" to that version automatically. Remember to always run upgrade_db.py if you upgrade. You can usually downgrade unless there is a drastic change (for example, you are running python3 and want to go to TACTIC 4.5).